Skip to main content

Updated Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) Quarantine Classification Guidelines for the Management of Coronavirus Disease 2019 (Covid-19) in the Philippines

Authorities have tightened restrictions in some localities through June 30 due to COVID-19 concerns. Community quarantine measures of varying levels remain ongoing nationwide through at least June 30. The country remains under Code Red Sublevel 2 on its code alert system, indicating ongoing local virus transmission with greater numbers of cases than the government can address.

The central government has ordered Bataan, Dinagat Islands, Iloilo, Negros Oriental, and Surigao del Sur provinces and Lucena and Naga cities to enforce the modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ), the second-tightest set of rules, June 16-30. MECQ will also remain in effect through June 30 in Agusan del Sur, Apayao, Cagayan, Ifugao, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, and Zamboanga Sibugay provinces and Butuan, Cagayan de Oro, Davao, Iloilo, Puerto Princesa, Santiago, and Zamboanga cities. Additionally, local officials in some localities are enforcing MECQ due to high local COVID-19 activity. The areas include Gingoog City, where the rules are in effect June 16-30. Under MECQ, key industries can work on-site with full capacity, while sectors like real estate and manufacturing of nonessential goods can operate with half their workforce. Some public transport vehicles can still operate for commuters who are allowed to leave their homes. Several businesses, like tourism sites and entertainment venues, have been instructed to suspend their operations. Nonessential mass gatherings are banned.

Authorities have mandated Benguet, Davao del Norte, Cotabato, Sarangani, South Cotabato, and Sultan Kudarat provinces to enforce the general community quarantine (GCQ), which is less stringent than MECQ, June 16-30. GCQ will also remain in place through June 30 in Metro Manila; Baguio, Cotabato, General Santos, and Iligan cities; and Abra, Batangas, Bulacan, Isabela, Kalinga, Lanao del Sur, Mountain, Nueva Vizcaya, Quezon, and Quirino provinces. Additionally, local governments in some areas are implementing GCQ due to high COVID-19 activity. The localities include Digos City, where the curbs are in effect through June 27. Under GCQ, most workplaces and public places can operate, provided they adhere to social distancing protocols. Select facilities, such as agricultural businesses, supermarkets, and utility providers, can operate on-site at full capacity. Public transport can operate at a reduced capacity with health protocols, such as a social distancing of 1 meter (3 feet) between passengers. Nonessential mass gatherings are banned, while religious services with attendees occupying up to half the venue’s capacity can take place. Dining at indoor and outdoor food establishments can occur at up to 50 and 75 percent of the venue’s capacity. Additionally, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal provinces continue to enact GCQ with heightened restrictions, such as lower capacities allowed for some gatherings and facilities, through June 30.

The central government continues to allow all other localities to enact the modified general community quarantine (MGCQ), the least severe level of rules, through June 30. Companies can work on-site, though at-risk employees must telecommute. Officials are allowing establishments that are open to the public to operate at 50 percent capacity. Public transport can operate with distancing controls in place. Mass gatherings can occur at half of the venue’s capacity.

Wearing both facemasks and face shields is compulsory across the country in public spaces. Residents aged 15-65 may leave their homes, though stricter rules are in place in several areas. At-risk groups cannot work on-site nationwide, with limited exceptions. Domestic routes between several cities operate with health protocols, such as compulsory use of facemasks.

Additional rules by local governments on top of controls mandated by the central government are widespread across the country. Metro Manila and Cebu City are enforcing 00:00-04:00 and 23:00-05:00 nightly curfews, respectively. Local officials may enforce short-term movement restrictions, such as stay-home orders, to facilitate mass testing of residents.

Official Website of San Antonio, Province of Zambales